Planning and Zoning


The Community and Economic Development Department oversees and coordinates land use, zoning, planning, business licencing, economic development, and building construction within Syracuse City.
 The Department assists businesses, developers, and citizens through permits, licenses, and the development plan approval process. We are tasked with protecting the health safety and welfare of the community by enforcing the adopted general plan, building code, and land use ordinances.  We are committed to customer service and assisting the positive development of this community. 

Contacts

Brigham Mellor, Director of Community & Economic Development   bmellor@syracuseut.com   801-614-9631

Noah Steele, AICP, Development Services Manager   nsteele@syracuseut.com   801-614-9672 

Royce Davies, Planner   rdavies@syracuseut.com   801-614-9632  

Heather Davies, Planning Tech   hdavies@syracuseut.com  801-614-9626 

Ken Sessions, Code Enforcement Officer ksessions@syracuseut.com 801-825-1477 x122

Community & Economic Development located at City Hall 1979 W 1900 S Syracuse Utah, 84075


Application Forms

The Community Development Department created application forms that you may view and print by clicking on the links below. These forms are also available in the Community Development Department at Syracuse City Hall, located at 1979 West 1900 South. If you have any questions, please feel free to call or email the Departmental staff at (801) 825-1477 opt 4 or planning@syracuseut.com

You will need Acrobat Reader to view and print these applications. 

Records Request

Records Request GRAMA Form


Appeals
Board of Adjustment Application
Appeal of Administrative Decision Application

Traffic Calming
Traffic Calming Policy

*Excavation permit applications are now handled by the Public Works Department


Ordinances/Plans

To view the City’s Subdivision Ordinance (Title VIII) and Land Use Ordinance (Title X), click on the link below:

  • Click here to read the Syracuse City Ordinance. 

Below are links to important planning documents




Maps - (Zoning Map, General Plan Map)

  • Click here for Zoning and General Plan Maps